Extreme Songwriting

20130309-074948.jpg
When it bites I just can’t stop…the songwriting bug. But it’s a GOOD bug, and very much invited:) I’ve been so busy these last few weeks, so I was very thankful for a week that I was able to slow down just a bit and hear from The Lord. God is having me write from a deeper part of me, and I can’t believe how crazy that looks on paper (or iPad) sometimes. There’s something freeing about asking God what He wants sung to Himself. I mean think about it, if you are wanting to completely please someone, and they ask you to play their favorite song…well yes! You’re gonna play it for them! So it seems sensible, that if we are seeking to know the heart of God, and we are asking Him what He wants to hear, and what He wants us to sing over HIS people, well then I just believe that His answer is important…actually, mandatory.

So, to all songwriters out there, or aspiring songwriters…if you are wanting to write a song that moves the heart of God, frees His people, and leads them to Him, then you MUST inquire of Him what He wants you to say. If He’s the all-knowing, answer-giver, speaker to our hearts, and giver of our gifts, it’s a no brainer. And I truly believe this is the key to “singing a new song”. I believe God is looking for people to sing the un-singable, and write lyrics that have never been expressed. And in order for that to happen in our stinkin’ human flesh, we must rely on Him, and then not be afraid to write what He says.

20130309-080323.jpg
(That’s my fingers after the epic songwriting guitar battle yesterday!)

20130309-080425.jpg
I hope you are encouraged today! You have so much to be thankful for, always remember that! We are a loved bunch of people…even if you don’t know that yet! ๐Ÿ™‚
We’ll be leading worship at LifePoint church in Gainesville tomorrow at 10:30am! Would love to see you there!

Be blessed!

Christy โค

Leave a Reply

