Sleep Cycle and Exercise

20130307-202807.jpg

Have you ever really thought about how well you are sleeping on a regular basis? Yeah, me either, until some of my folks started talking about this iPhone app called Sleep Cycle. They started using it, and it actually tracks your sleep patterns throughout the night, and keeps an ongoing log! Crazy huh?! Basically, you set up the app with the time you need to wake up by in the morning, place it on your bed (or under your sheet somewhere close to your pillow), and it will wake you up at the most ideal moment in your sleep cycle…no later than your needed wake up time. Anyway, the coolest part is how it knows when you wake up and when you are in your deepest sleep. I did my first night last night, and I can’t wait to see how it works over the course of a week or so. Turns out I didn’t sleep so great last night…and I could tell!

20130307-203913.jpg

Felt good to get a little run in today as well! This year has been interesting for me in the exercise world. For several years I raced a lot…mountain and road bike races, and running of course. But after getting hit hard with celiac and crohns diseases, I obviously had to fall off a while. In the same way, it’s been touchy getting back in the groove because I’m still trying to put on more weight, so while I have to be careful not to lose, I also know I have to do something to stay healthy. All that to say, I’m trying more strength training…so when I run on the treadmill, I’m doing the “mountain climb” setting….and it’s a getter! I highly recommend this setting if you have a treadmill with that option…or a if you go to a gym. I get bored with normal routine, so this changes it up and keeps it fun while it challenges the muscles!

20130307-204647.jpg

And finally, Dooley Dawg just melts me sometimes! Ok…most the time! This morning he seriously stayed in bed until 10:15…when he decided he was hungry and wanted to eat. Smart boy;)

I’ll leave you with this verse:

Isaiah 61:10 “I am overwhelmed with joy in The Lord my God! For He has dressed me with the clothing of salvation and draped me in a robe of righteousness.”

And THAT’S good reason for joy!

Be blessed!

Christy ❤

Leave a Reply

