Testing Throat Remedy

20130305-213624.jpg

On Wednesday afternoon I started having a soreness in my throat…I thought, surely it’s just because I’ve been talking too much, or just some allergies. As the day went on it got worse and worse…yikes! Knowing I had to lead worship for a 4 day retreat starting the next day, I went into desperate mode. And the above concoction was my recommended course of action. I have to be real honest with you, I’m a picky wimp when it comes to nasty tastes in my mouth. I avoid nastiness as if it were deadly! But I was seriously desperate, and had a little “encouragement” from those close to me that I should go for it for my own good…so I took the challenge:

2 Tbs apple cider vinegar
2 Tbs lemon juice
1 Tbs honey

…Mixed it all up, held my nose (this step is very important!), and chugged it as fast as possible. No doubt, I nearly gagged. I jumped up and down and looked like a complete nut for about a minute. By far, THE NASTIEST thing that’s ever occurred on my taste buds! It’s like this gross, burning sensation takes over your whole body for a minute.

What’s my final take on how it worked? I’m not sure. I think it helped for a few minutes…I did this just before bedtime. But I woke up feeling horrible still and had to go to the doctor for shots and medicine so I could make it through a long weekend of leading worship. I’m sure this is a process that would need to be done several times, and better if done at the first signs of the sore throat. I probably waited too long and then it was so gross I didn’t want to do it again. If you are a toughy about gross things, I recommend it….but more than once! For me, I think I’ll just hit up the doctor and some tree-huggin’ throat spray from now on. 🙂

20130305-215857.jpg

I’m also pretty fond of the Sleepy Time Throat Tamer tea! At first I didn’t like the taste of it too much, but I’ve been using it for several years now anytime I feel a little roughness going on. There is some good stuff in there for the ole vocals, and I personally think the Sleepy Time brand has better flavor than some of the other throat coat teas I’ve tried. I drink it all during the day, not just at night…doesn’t make me sleepy so not sure what that’s all about!)

20130305-214939.jpg

Y’all have a good Wednesday!

Be blessed!

Christy ❤

Leave a Reply

