Oaks of Righteousness

20130304-224317.jpg
I’ve been leading worship for a long time now, and appreciate and cherish every “ahhhhhh” moment God sends my way. This weekend I had the privilege of leading worship at Tres Dias with a great bunch of ladies who were seeking hard after Jesus, and I know that we all encountered Him in a sweet way. Throughout the jam packed weekend, we worshipped Him in song approximately 4 times a day, starting at 7:00am and finishing the final services close to midnight….for 3 nights! God really brought together the theme of the weekend, and the song that goes along with that theme, to confirm a few things I’ve been praying about. Our theme song was At the Foot of the Cross by Kathryn Scott. And our scripture:

Isaiah 61:3 “He will give you a crown of beauty for ashes, a joyous blessing instead of mourning, festive praise instead of despair. In their righteousness they will be like great oaks that The Lord has planted for His own glory.”

The “ahhhhhh” moments I’m referring to can be different for each person! For some, I saw their moment as a time of refreshing….a taste of freshness that maybe they have been so thirsty for. For others it was like a revelation, where things just came together and made sense in a whole new way. Others receiving emotional and spiritual healing, and freedom from bondage. All these moments call for an “ahhhhhhhh!”.

I have to say, as a worship leader I was filled with joy and love for Jesus and His sweet people as we seemed to just walk right into His presence in our times of worship. And something just really stuck out to me this morning as I was reflecting on the weekend and thinking of our scripture. Not only does He take our ashes and junk and grant us beauty in every form, but He does ALL this not so we can just feel better about ourselves, or not even so we will have this crazy revelation about our lives….no, it is ALL for His glory! It’s only through our righteousness, our trusting Jesus to help us walk righteously, that we have the ability to be a great oak for Jesus! And a great oak can’t hide, it stands out for all to see the glory in it! I don’t know about you, but for me this encourages me to feed on the word of God, to keep my roots watered, and to walk uprightly…not that I would just be this fantastic tree just standing in a field, but that I am meant to stand tall for Jesus, and radiate His greatness, and always remember that I’m planted for His glory alone.

A great oak doesn’t have to be loud or fight for the attention of those around it. It just does what it was created to do…for the glory of God to shine through it in the most perfect and precious way. I pray and beg of God that He will always remind me what a gift it is to be able to come to Him and worship at His feet, and that He chooses to call us His prize and chooses to be honored by our worship toward Him.

I’m recognizing more and more every day the “oak of righteousness” that He is calling me to be. I’m thankful and honored that He chose me, and wants me, and that others would praise Him because of the glory He displays.

Be blessed!
Christy ❤

20130304-224526.jpg

8 thoughts on “Oaks of Righteousness

Leave a Reply

